Skip to Content

Related News

  • Related News

  • Community members can test out climate-friendly e-bikes at E-Bike Expo on Saturday

    EWEB encourages Eugene residents to ride into summer on clean, accessible e-bikes, with a $300 e-bike rebate.

    Find Out More
  • EWEB Hosts Dinner to Appreciate Customers of the McKenzie River Valley

    EWEB hosted a customer appreciation dinner at the Walterville Community Center on Thursday, May 23, in place of its yearly upriver Board meeting. The event allowed customers, EWEB Commissioners, and staff to share a meal and openly discuss topics most relevant to the McKenzie Valley community.

    Find Out More
  • EWEB bids a fond farewell to College Hill Reservoir and prepares for modern drinking water storage tanks

    Several hundred Eugene residents came together on May 30 for a Farewell Celebration at EWEB’s College Hill Reservoir before demolition and construction to build modern drinking water storage tanks begins later this year.

    Find Out More
  • EWEB opens application for 2024 Electric Mobility Community Grants

    Grant awards of up to $30,000 to cover costs associated with electric mobility projects.

    Find Out More
  • The Big Freeze 2024: After Action Report

    Winter 2024 was one for the records books, and we'll look back on it for years to come and say, "That was a doozy!"  The back-to-back January Ice Storms caused widespread damage to EWEB’s service territory, affecting approximately 38,000 customers. Preliminary repair costs were over $8 million, and additional repairs to transmission lines are still required. 

    Find Out More
  • Show More
Meet Your New Commissioners

January 12, 2021

Photos of Board of Commissioners

Local control is a hallmark of a publicly owned utility. The citizens of Eugene elect five commissioners to staggered four-year terms on the EWEB Board. Commissioners dedicate their service as volunteers without pay and are responsible for the overall governance of the utility. They set policies, approve the strategic plan and annual goals, and authorize financial matters such as the annual budget and electric and water prices. 

At the January 2021 public meeting, three EWEB board members took the oath of office, including two newly elected commissioners. 

John Barofsky was elected to represent Wards 2 and 3 and Matt McRae to Wards 1 and 8. The two seats on the Board were relinquished this year by former commissioners Dick Helgeson and Steve Mital who decided not to run for re-election after serving for eight years and seven years respectively. Sonya Carlson retained her seat for a second term representing Wards 6 and 7. 

John Barofsky is a long-time Eugene resident and co-owns a local business, Beppe & Gianni's Trattoria. His dedication to supporting our community is evident by the expansive list of boards and committees he currently serves including the Fairmont Neighborhood Association (FNA), the City of Eugene Planning Commission, Travel Lane County, and the Oregon Restaurant & Lodging Associate Executive Committee, Eugene Chamber of Commerce Government Affairs Committee and City of Eugene Street Bond Review Panel. Using his experience Commissioner Barofsky aims to keep rates low, protect our watershed, and further develop a clean, carbon-free power portfolio.

Matt McRae is the Long-Term Disaster Recovery Manager for Lane County. He has studied natural hazards that impact Eugene, including floods, winter storms, and earthquakes. He understands the risks and the solutions and will promote investments that make our community more resilient to extreme events. He also has an extensive background in climate change and energy matters including his service as the Climate Policy Strategist for Our Children's Trust and working as the Climate and Energy Analyst and Natural Hazards Specialist for the City of Eugene. Commissioner McRae will advocate for reliable and affordable renewable energy and clean drinking water and wants to see EWEB play a role in reducing our community's carbon footprint.

Rounding out the Board, Vice President John Brown has served as representative of Wards 4 and 5 since 2007, and Mindy Schlossberg, elected in 2019 to represent all customer-owners in the at-large position, is serving as president of the Board in 2021.

Commissioners hold regularly scheduled public meetings on the first Tuesday of each month. We welcome and encourage our customer-owners to attend.

Learn more about your commissioners and view a map of Eugene's political wards.