Skip to Content

Related News

  • Related News

  • Leaburg Decommissioning Action Plan

    Plan details next steps through regulatory processes to begin dismantling Leaburg Dam by 2032.

    Find Out More
  • What’s ahead in 2024: General manager’s message to EWEB customer-owners

    At the start of the new year, we back at accomplishments from 2023 and look ahead at what's to come in 2024.

    Find Out More
  • EWEB 2023 year in review

    In 2023, EWEB invested in our community with grants, rebates and an array of other programs and measures aimed at fulfilling our core values of safety, reliability, affordability, environmental responsibility and community/culture.

    Find Out More
  • EWEB To Hold First of Two Public Hearings on Proposed 2024 Budget and Prices

    At the Nov. 7 Board of Commissioners meeting, EWEB staff will present a proposed budget that includes rate increases necessary to support utility operations and make needed infrastructure investments.

    Find Out More
  • Public Power Week Poster Contest Winners 2023

    The results are in! View the winning posters from EWEB's 2023 Public Power Week Poster Contest.

    Find Out More
  • Show More
Commissioners Elect Officers, Liaisons

January 13, 2022

EWEB President John Brown

EWEB’s five commissioners earlier this month voted to elect John Brown as president of the Board and Sonya Carlson as vice president.

President Brown, first elected to the Board in 2007, represents Wards 4 and 5.

Vice President Carlson joined the Board in 2017, and represents Wards 6 and 7.

The Board also made a series of liaison appointments for the New Year to help coordinate EWEB policy work with other public agencies. Below are the commissioner liaison appointments for 2022:

  • Commissioner John Barofsky, McKenzie Watershed Council
  • Commissioner Carlson, Lane Council of Governments
  • Commissioner Matt McRae, Springfield Utility Board
  • Commissioner Mindy Schlossberg, Lane Electric Cooperative
  • Commissioners John Brown and Sonya Carlson, City of Eugene

Commissioners were also appointed to internal EWEB liaison assignments:

  • John Brown, Other Post Employment Benefits
  • John Brown and Sonya Carlson, EWEB Riverfront Property Project Team
  • Mindy Schlossberg and John Barofsky, EWEB Riverfront Property Evaluation Team

Taking effect this year are new ward boundaries that impact all elected city officials, including EWEB commissioners. The city’s charter requires officials to evaluate and update council wards at least once every 10 years, coinciding with the decennial U.S. Census, to make sure population between the eight regions is roughly even. 

City staff drew the new boundaries to make population between wards as even as possible, grouping wards that had gained more and less population and moving areas between them. 

Evenly dividing the city population after the Census among the eight wards would result in wards of 22,083 residents. As part of the new boundaries, all wards are within 1% of that target. 

The map makes small shifts between wards, moving:

  • A strip of properties along High Street between Seventh Avenue and 18th Avenue from Ward 3 to Ward 1
  • Part of the Amazon Neighborhood from Ward 3 to Ward 2
  • A section of northeast Eugene bound by Crescent Avenue, Coburg Road, Chuckanut Street and Park View Drive from Ward 5 to Ward 4
  • Two parts of Bethel Neighborhood from Ward 7 — part to Ward 6 and another to Ward 8

There's a detailed map of the changes available at